“Calm” Is the New “Fun” in the Busy Life!

I know, I know.  It’s been a while.

I say that a lot, don’t I?  Well, I always have a good excuse.  Really!  I swear!

Actually, I’ve been working a lot lately.  A lot a lot.  I have two jobs and I think I put in around 75 hours this week.  Yeah, it’s a lot, but it’s okay.  It’s not every week, you see.  Just sometimes.

But it really got me thinking about how I spend my time.  Today, after I submitted a project to one of my bosses, he told me to “do something fun.”  I said, “I will!” and then hung up the phone with a smile.

I swiveled around in my chair and then stopped.  And thought.  And…well…I realized that I really didn’t know what to do!  It’s 4pm.  I’m done with another huge project.  It’s been a busy week.  I finally have a few free hours and…well…I’m stuck!  What’s fun?

So, I took out my guitar and played some Simon & Garfunkel.  That always makes me smile.  And, in a few minutes, I’m going to do my yoga. That always relaxes me.  Then, I’m going to make dinner and watch some funny TV.  That’s always good, right?

So, I realized I really didn’t have to do anything “fun.”  Really, I just had to do something comfortable.  Familiar.  Relaxing.  Those are the gateways.  The ways in to the places inside that make me feel calm.  And as we all know, “calm” is the new “fun” in this modern age.

About 10-ish, I’ll turn in.  I’ll put my head down on my pillow and drift off into a sleep that will end on Monday around 5:30am when another long week will begin (no real Thanksgiving break here!  Probably will be workin’!).

But as that week begins, I guess the lesson is that I don’t have to search in between the work hours for “fun.”  Really, I just need to search for balance.  For activities that make me feel comfortable in my skin.

There is enough drama in life without making more.  There is enough that pushes us off kilter without ourselves adding more.  Remember that.  Surround yourself with positive people.  Do things that give you a sense of peace.  You don’t owe anyone an explanation.  Just do what you have to do to keep it all good.  As for the rest?  Well, deal with what you have to deal with.  Honk the horn when you have to honk.  Say “yes” to that cranky person at work with a smile and gritted teeth.  Eat what you don’t like so you can be polite.

But at the end of the day?  Well, do what makes you calm.  That’s really something more lasting than “fun.”

Leave a Reply

