USA Women’s Soccer Shines Against Brazil at the 2011 FIFA World Cup Despite the Ease of Giving In and Giving Up

I’m not a big soccer fan.  I don’t dislike it…I just don’t really follow it.  To me, the rules and rankings and seedings of soccer are as foreign as space travel.

But today, I had the good fortune to see the USA women defeat Brazil in the 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup.  I turned the match on late, with the score tied 1-1.  Brazil pulled ahead 2-1 in extra minutes, but the USA women eventually put one in the net, just when it looked like all was lost.

It went to penalty kicks.

And wouldn’t you know it?  USA took it in the highest form of drama.

During the extra-minutes, one of the announcers said, “this game isn’t over for the US” (or, some other sports cliche designed to get you to keep watching so that the sponsors feel good).  But actually?  She was right.  Short-handed (due to some calls that I’m not savvy enough to criticize), the USA kept pushing and pushing and pushing and eventually took it in grand fashion.

I turned the TV off and looked around at my stuff and my space.  I’m stuck in this crazy economy just like you.  I’m adjusting to some new and unexpected life circumstances just like everyone else.  I could let myself get really down.  I could allow feelings of inevitable defeat (Brazil is a soccer powerhouse — I’m sure not all teams who face them have overwhelming confidence) to crush me.

No.

I made a commitment a while back to keep pushing and pushing and pushing and I am determined to see things in a new way.  I’ve made some progress on that score, and have actually learned from some of my defeats.

So today, I want to thank the USA women at the 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup for showing me the true meaning of pushing on.  I don’t know how far they’ll go in the tournament, but I do know they will always have this experience under their belt.  They can no longer say something is truly “impossible,” no matter how improbably it may seem.

I guess that goes for the rest of us as well….

Leave a Reply

