For This Non-Fan, Green Bay and Rodgers’ Win Over Steelers is Satisfying

I’m not a Green Bay Packers fan.

I’m a Browns fan.

And that’s why I am so happy tonight.

Isn’t that fantastic?  It’s so sad that so many of my home teams are such that the closest I get to a victory is when one of my rivals makes it to the big game and loses.  Ha!

But no, that’s not really the only reason.  I watched with some non-Browns fans tonight and they were just as happy to see the Packers take it as I.

In all honesty, I do think it was a good outcome that the game went to Aaron Rodgers and company.  His quiet leadership, class, and patience paid off in a big, and very satisfying way.  But still, one day I’d like to see one of ‘my’ teams holding that trophy.

Dare to dream.

I’m not one to change allegiances.  I’m not one to jump on and off the bandwagon.

No.

I’ve stuck it out with my teams through thick and thin…unfortunately, there has been a lot of thin.

A lot of it.

Real thin.

Very thin.

Still, as a fan of guys like Steve Nash and Grant Hill — quiet class and poise — I watched tonight’s game with more than a competitive interest.  And, in the end, there was a smile on my face.

I won’t celebrate in Wisconsin tomorrow.  I will forget this game soon and move on.  I’m just glad that in the annals of history, there will be one small footnote:  *On 2/6/11, Aaron Rodgers, who waited patiently behind Brett Favre, finally won one for the good guys.

So, to Mr. Aaron Rodgers and the Green Bay Packers, from this non-fan to you, let me just say:  Thanks for bringing this perennial championship bridesmaid some satisfaction tonight.  Enjoy it.  Hope to see you in the Big One again soon.

Hopefully against one of my teams.

Leave a Reply

