Dear Abby Reminds Us of Something We Should All Know Anyway…And Not Only In This Season

I read with interest a Dear Abby today.

It seems a woman and her young niece got into the habit of creating hand-crafted, personal holiday cards for friends and family.  A year ago, the woman received a card from a friend with a check enclosed telling the woman that she should use the money to get real cards for next year.

Good lord!

The woman polled others who also told her they felt the hand made cards were cheap.

Goodness gracious.

But not good.  And certainly not gracious.

Abby’s reaction was probably similar to yours (unless you’re the person who sent the check).  She told the woman (and her niece) to cross these folks off their holiday list.

My question is:  How in the name of all that is holy and good in this world did these folks end up on her list in the first place?

I mean, I understand that sometimes people get onto lists and it’s hard to get them off, and sometimes we just send a card to be polite if someone is rather distant to us.  But I also believe people reveal themselves to us over time.

But then again, I’m no one to judge.

I am not this woman or her niece.  I don’t know their situation or who this “friend” was, but my my my…what an incredible teaching moment.  What a season to sit with the niece and have a discussion about propriety, honesty, and feelings.

There is a fine line between being honest and being horrible, and goodness knows NONE of us is a perfect specimen of total tact.  I’m known as a rather blunt person, but I like to think that even I know when to put the pillow on the end of the poker (although I am probably surrounded by nicer people who would never say anything if I didn’t!)

To a mean person: shame on you.

To we who don’t stand against these kinds of social horrors: shame on all of us.

Share

Leave a Reply

