The Curse of Caring About Sports

Both of my teams lost today – the Browns and the Cardinals.  That’s right…I root for the Browns.  THE Browns.

You may commence groaning.

Nice, huh?

You might be saying, “Hey Josh, chill out!  Lots of teams lose.  You’re not the only one!”

Oh yeah?  Well it seems like all my teams lose every week.  I mean, I know that’s not the case, but it just seems like that, y’know?  I go into the weekend and just get that “Oh, no!” feeling.

So much for the power of positive thinking, right?

Ah, who am I kidding.  You don’t care.  You probably don’t even watch football.

I envy folks who don’t follow sports sometimes.  They live in a sort of bliss…the bliss of not caring about who wins and who loses.  They don’t worry about quarterfinals, playoffs, championship games…

They just roll on in beautiful bliss.  I think they look at the rest of us and think, “How can someone get so worked up over a game?”

And they’re right…it is a mystery how we can get so worked up.  A terrible, horrible mystery that never, ever gets solved.

Oh, how I envy you!

I, however, will be watching football next weekend.  And reading the sports page first each day.  And getting involved in ridiculous arguments about statistics, trade deadlines, and meaningless players contracts.

And that’s a curse.

Now, on the off chance that you did watch sports today, who is your favorite team?  Did they win?

If they did, and they played my team, don’t tell me…I don’t want to know.

Seriously.

Share

Leave a Reply

