America’s Got Talent 7/21 Eliminations…Live!

So, here we are.  The next set of eliminations.  (Read the Associated Content article here)…

We don’t have a hand whistling Sally Cohn or the Future Funk toddlers, but there is a lot of talent tonight for Piers Morgan, Sharon Osbourne, and Howie Mandel, including Ascendance, Antionio Restivo, and Alice Tan Ridley.  Who will it be?  Let’s see!

Right off the bat, Piers is going at it with Cannon.  This guy is such a pot-stirrer…I don’t know how else to describe it!

And then there’s Howie, bumbling on the end, living on the edge between nice guy and hard-arse!

_________________

Elimination 1

The Mona Sampath dance company, Ascendance, and Ronith…

And it’s Ascendance.

And I can’t say I’m surprised.  Their artform is truly unique, and they really bring something we haven’t seen before.

Although, I must say I’m bummed for Ronith.  That guy is really out there putting himself on the line.  One has to wonder if he knows he’s that bad, but I think that’s what makes him great. Howie says he has a producer friend who wants him in a movie, and I believe that’s true!  I’m still not sure if I’d buy a ticket to see whatever movie Ronith headlines, but…it’ll certainly be interesting.

_________________

Elimination 2

Cheer SF, Iron Horse, and Alice Tan Ridley…

And it’s Alice Tan Ridley.  And it had to be.  And it probably will be for shows to come!

Her rendition of “Midnight Train to Georgia” was inspiring and I don’t know how anyone could vote otherwise.  It’s easy to imagine her on tour, belting out standards and original material.  And, I agree with Piers.  Years from now people will probably be saying to her daughter Gabourey Sidibe, “Hey!  You’re Alice Tan Ridley’s daughter!”

We’ve said it before and we’ll say it again:  Welcome above ground, Ms. Ridley!

By the way Howie, you don’t have ESP.  The choice was painfully obvious.

Elimination 3

_________________

Michael Grimm, Lil Chris, and The Strong Man…

The winner?  Michael Grimm.

Lil Chris is talented, but I think it’s just too early…although, I don’t think we’ve heard the last of him.  As for the Strong Man?  I think he could have a great career in Iceland performing in strong man competitions.

As for Michael Grimm?  Well, what can we say?  His story is spectacular and his voice is…unbelievable.  He is simple, clean, and soulful, and I really think that’s a winning combination, although I am by no means an expert.  But then again, who am I to argue with Ozzie Osbourne.

(Was that Howie Mandel playing with Train on the Uke?)

Judges’ Pick

_________________

Wreckless, Hannibal Means, Antonio Restivo…

And it’s Antonio Restivo.

This was a tough one.  All these groups have interesting stories, and it was really hard to tell which way this one would go.  America obviously didn’t connect with Hannibal, although he’ll probably re-surface somewhere on, or off, Broadway.

Piers chose Wreckless because of their story.  And really, this could have gone either way.  Both acts are inspiring and have matured so much.  I didn’t envy the choice.

I hope that Wreckless goes to the top.  I hope a dance company or production calls them up and makes them a great offer.  Why?  Because in an era when heart has been replaced with ego (LeBron anyone?) it’s nice to see a group that is so dedicated that nothing can stop them.

_________________

So, that’s it for another week.  It was fun, America.  The talent and inspiration train rolls on and we all await the next rounds.

Join us!

Leave a Reply

